Women’s Rugby League World Cup: Australia’s Jillaroos beat New Zealand 23-16 in final to claim world title

Australia’s Jillaroos are Rugby League World Cup champions after a 23-16 win over New Zealand in the final at Lang Park.

A tight, tense first half gave way to a fantastic Australian display in the second, when the host nation ran all over its trans-Tasman rivals to win its second World Cup title.

Isabelle Kelly scored twice for Australia, while Caitlin Moran and Elianna Walton also crossed for four-pointers.

The first half could hardly have been tighter, with both sides showing incredible commitment and enjoying spells of dominance.

Australia took an early lead through Kelly, only for New Zealand to respond with a pair of tries to Honey Hireme.

But the half-time lead would be reinstated by Moran’s try and successful conversion.

It looked like the Jillaroos would surge ahead to an easy win in the second half when Kelly and Walton crossed, but the Kiwis had one last hand to play.

Raecene McGregor scored with less than 10 minutes to play to set up the grandstand finish, but Moran’s cool and collected field goal in the dying moment settled the final and launched Australian celebrations.