203 Afghan diplomats including 11 ambassadors refuse to return to Afghanistan after end of duty tour

As many as 203 Afghan diplomats who travelled abroad for duty tour have failed to return to their home country despite end of their mission.

According to 1TV most of the diplomats have applied for asylum in the hosting or a third country.

The diplomats include also former ambassadors including Zalmai Haqqani (France), Obaidullah Obaid (Netherlands), Zahida (Bulgaria), Azizullah Amin (Qatar), Maleeha (U.K.), Abdul Rahid (Kuwait) Karim Rahimi (South Korea) Zalmai Azizi (Switzerland), Mohammadullah Haidari (Libya), Syed Mohammad (Jordan), Abdul Hai Haidar (Poland), and Obaidullah Obaid (Netherlands).

Afghanistan’s Foreign Ministry admitted that the diplomats failed to return to their job in home country after end of duty tour abroad.

“But it doesn’t mean that all of them sought asylum,” said Shekib Mustaghni, a spokesman for Foreign Ministry.

To overcome the problem, the ministry is considering measures including withholding two-month salaries for the diplomats, taking letters of guarantee and paying persuasive allowances.

Apart from refusal to return home, some diplomats have also been found hold dual citizenship and foreign wife, which go against laws approved by the parliament under former President Hamid Karzai.

This comes as Afghans left their country in search of a better life abroad in higher rate in recent years.

According to experts, poverty, insecurity and lack of trust in future could explain the reason why Afghans apply for asylum abroad.

Original Post